Insert a citation
- Open your EndNote library.
- Position the cursor at the location where you would like the citation.
- Select Insert Citation in the EndNote toolbar in Word and search for and select the reference(s) you wish to cite.
- Select Insert.
Edit a citation
If you wish to edit a citation:
- Click on a citation in the document and select Edit & Manage Citation(s) in the EndNote toolbar in Word. Now you can choose to omit the author name from the citation, add cited pages, or insert text before (prefix) or after (suffix) the citation.
If you wish to edit a citation:
- Click on a citation in the document and select Edit & Manage Citation(s) in the EndNote toolbar in Word. Now you can choose to omit the author name from the citation, add cited pages, or insert text before (prefix) or after (suffix) the citation.
Citing references in footnotes
- Go to References in the Word menu and click on Insert Footnote.
- When your cursor is in the footnote, you can use Insert Citation in the EndNote tab in Word.
- Select Insert.
Unfortunately, you can't change citations in parentheses to footnotes in EndNote by simply changing the reference style. If you've used a reference style that uses parentheses for citations and want to switch to a footnote style, you will need to change this manually, one reference at a time, according to the instructions above.
Insert a bibliography
If instant formatting is enabled in Word (Instant Formatting is On), references will automatically be added to a bibliography in the end of the document. If Instant formatting is Off, click on Update Citations and Bibliography to add the bibliography to the document.
If instant formatting is enabled in Word (Instant Formatting is On), references will automatically be added to a bibliography in the end of the document. If Instant formatting is Off, click on Update Citations and Bibliography to add the bibliography to the document.
Change reference style
- Select the style you wish to use in the EndNote toolbar, under Style.
- Choose Select Another Style... to choose from around 500 styles that come with the installation of the program.
- If you wish to use a style that isn't already installed, find more styles at https://endnote.com/downloads/styles/.
Remove field codes
In some occasions, you may need to remove Cite While You Write field codes before you share your document with a publisher or colleague. If you want to make manual changes to your bibliography, you also need to remove the EndNote connection. Select Convert Citations and Bibliography → Convert to Plain Text.
Once the field codes are removed, you cannot reformat or unformat your paper. Always make sure that you keep a copy with the field codes intact.
In some occasions, you may need to remove Cite While You Write field codes before you share your document with a publisher or colleague. If you want to make manual changes to your bibliography, you also need to remove the EndNote connection. Select Convert Citations and Bibliography → Convert to Plain Text.
Once the field codes are removed, you cannot reformat or unformat your paper. Always make sure that you keep a copy with the field codes intact.