Add full text articles using Find Full text
EndNote can attempt to find a journal article in PDF and attach it to a bibliographic reference that you have saved in your library.
- Mark one or more references in your library.
- Select References → Find Full Text → Find Full Text. When an article is attached to a reference, a paper clip icon appears next to the reference.
The following settings can increase the success rate for finding the full text documents when you are off campus:
- Go to Edit → Preferences → Find Full Text.
- Enter the following information:
Authenticate with URL: http://ezproxy.its.uu.se/login?url=
EndNote can attempt to find a journal article in PDF and attach it to a bibliographic reference that you have saved in your library.
- Mark one or more references in your library.
- Go to References → Find Full Text → Find Full Text. When an article is attached to a reference, a paper clip icon appears next to the reference.
The following settings can increase the success rate for finding the full text documents when you are off campus:
- Go to EndNote 21 → Settings → Find Full Text.
- Fill in the following information:
Authenticate with URL: http://ezproxy.its.uu.se/login?url=
Add fulltext articles manually
If the PDF is not found and attached automatically, you can add it manually in EndNote:
- Select a reference and go to References in the EndNote menu → File Attachments → Attach File.
- Search for the PDF on your computer.
- Or mark the reference and click on File attachments → Attach File in the right column.
- Or drag and drop the PDF from your computer onto the reference in EndNote.
If the PDF is not found and attached automatically, there are several ways to add it manually in EndNote:
- Select a reference and go to References in the EndNote menu → File Attachments → Attach File.
- Search for the PDF on your computer.
- Or click on the reference and then on PDF in the editing window and Attach PDF.
- Or drag and drop the PDF from your computer onto the reference in EndNote.
Import PDF files from your computer into EndNote
If you have PDF files of journal articles on your computer, you can import these into EndNote and, in many cases, EndNote will create bibliographic references in your library at the same time:
- Go to File → Import → File (to select one PDF) or File → Import → Folder (to select an entire folder with several PDF files).
- Choose the file or folder on your computer.
- Select Import Option: PDF and click on Import.
Sometimes, the PDF will be imported, but without a bibliographic reference. Since you cannot use a PDF to cite the source in a document you will need to create a bibliographic reference. You can mark the PDF and fill all needed information about the reference.
If you have PDF files of journal articles on your computer, you can import these into EndNote and, in many cases, EndNote will create bibliographic references in your library at the same time:
- Go to File → Import → File.
- Choose a file or a folder with several PDF files to import.
- Click on Import.
Sometimes, the PDF will be imported, but without a bibliographic reference. Since you cannot use a PDF to cite the source in a document you will need to create a bibliographic reference. You can mark the PDF and fill out the information about the reference.