Cite using Harvard

Harvard, citations, references

Article with author(s)

In-text citation

Template

(Last name, Year)

Example
Parenthetical citations
... (Bhatt and Ashutosh, 2022).
... (Astroulakis, 2015).

Narrative citations (when the author is mentioned in the text)
According to Bhatt och Ashutosh (2022)  it's...
Astroulakis (2015) claims...

 

Reference list entry

Template

Last name, First name and Last name, First name (Year).Title of the article/entry. In: Editor's Last name, First name (Ed(s).) Title of encyclopedia/dictionary. X. ed. Place of publication: Publisher, vol. X, p. xxx-xxx. URL [Accessed: date].

Example
Astroulakis, Nikos (2015). Ethical consumption. In: Wherry, Frederick F. and Schor, Juliet B. (Eds.) The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE Publications. https://doi.org/10.4135/9781452206905 [Accessed: 2023-07-17].

Bhatt, Ketan and Ashutosh, Kumar (2022). Travelocity. In: Buhalis, Dimitrios (Ed.) Encyclopedia of tourism management and marketing. Cheltenham: Edward Elgar Publishing, vol. 4, p. 613-616.

 

Comments

  • Edition is specified from the second edition.
  • Volume number is included if the encyclopedia/dictionary consists of more than one volume.
  • Include the page range of the specific entry in the encyclopedia/dictionary.
  • URL and accessed date is included if it is available online.

Article without author(s)

In-text citation

Template

(Name of the encyclopedia/dictionary, Year)

Example

Parenthetical citations
... (Encyclopædia Britannica, 2022).
... (APA dictionary of psychology, 2006).

Narrative citations (when the author is mentioned in the text)
According to Encyclopædia Britannica (2022)  it's...
APA dictionary of psychology (2006) claims...

 

Reference list entry

Template

Title of encyclopedia/dictionary (Year).Title of the article/entry. X. ed. Place of publication: Publisher, vol. X, p. xxx-xxx. URL [Accessed: date].

Example
APA dictionary of psychology (2006). Mood induction. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, p. 667.

Encyclopædia Britannica (2022). Chavela Vargas. Chicago: Encyclopaedia Britannica. https://academic.eb.com/levels/collegiate/article/Chavela-Vargas/631948 [Accessed: 2022-05-16].

 

Comments

  • Edition is specified from the second edition.
  • Volume number is included if the encyclopedia/dictionary consists of more than one volume.
  • Include the page range of the specific entry in the encyclopedia/dictionary.
  • URL and accessed date is included if it is available online.