On a weekly basis, the Library imports Uppsala University affiliated publications that are indexed in the database Web of Science to DiVA. Any publications not indexed in Web of Science need to be added to DiVA by researchers themselves or by administrators at the departments.
To avoid duplicate registration, start by searching DiVA for the title of the publication. You can also check for duplicates while importing records. More information on this can be found in Step 3 of the section "Import – step-by-step" below.
If the publication is already in DiVA, you can edit the existing record if needed.
Are you registering a new publication? If possible, import a reference saved from a database or journal website. Two common reference formats that are supported in DiVA are BibTex and RIS. Follow the instructions in the section Import – step-by-step" further down this page.
If importing the reference is not possible, please follow the instructions in the Register publications guide instead. That guide can also be consulted if you want to retrieve information about a journal article using the article’s DOI.
Start by searching for the publications you want to import into DiVA. For example, you can search for them in a database, on the publisher's website or using a reference management software. Only references in the following formats can be imported into DiVA:
Publications which have been imported are listed as drafts under Import references. Until you have reviewed and submitted the records, only you will be able to see these drafts.
If any publication you have imported is already registered in DiVA with a DOI, PubMedID and/or ISI, the publication will be marked as a duplicate.
If you want to change or make additions to the already registered record, you can do so by clicking on the duplicate.
If you do not want to change or add anything to the existing record, delete your draft duplicate record in the import list (this does not affect the already registered record).
In order for publications to be registered in DiVA, you must click on each record, review and complete the information imported into the registration form, and then submit.
The registration form for an imported reference is three pages long. The first page contains details of the publication and the second page allows you to upload files (see Step 4). The third page provides an overview of the information registered for the current publication (see Step 5).
Once you have started reviewing a record, you can select Cancel/Save changes at the top of the page if you would like to resume the review process later. The record will then remain as a draft in the Import reference section of DiVA.
Each record needs to be thoroughly checked. It is particularly important that the following information is correct:
See the Register publication guide for more details on the different fields in the registration form.
When importing references from other databases into DiVA, attaching the full-text is optional.
DiVA allows you to upload full-texts of all types of scholarly publications – journal articles, books and reports, for example – for open access publishing. DiVA provides secure long-term storage with stable links to published full-texts.
Before uploading the full-text of a published or forthcoming publication, you need to check that this is allowed by the publisher. Material published within Uppsala University can normally be uploaded to DiVA, unless there is a specific agreement prohibiting this.
Attachments only become visible after they are reviewed, and if there are no copyright restrictions. If it is not possible to publish the file openly in DiVA, it will be archived in the record.
On the Review / Publish page, make a final review of the information in the record. Click on Edit details if there is anything that needs to be added or changed. This will take you back to the first page of the registration form.
When all the information in the record is correct, select Submit.
If you have imported several publications, you will be returned to the list of drafts to review the next entry.
The record with information about the publication will be visible in the DiVA search tool within a few minutes, with the exception of the following publication types: student thesis, doctoral thesis and licentiate thesis. It can take up to 24 hours for new entries in DiVA to appear on profile and web pages.
Records that are published immediately upon registration are reviewed by a librarian or DiVA administrator. In the DiVA search tool, a publication is marked as "Bibliographically reviewed" once reviewed.
If you uploaded a file that you wish to make publicly available, the file will become visible after a DiVA administrator at the library has verified it. The library will only make files available where it is clearly stated that this is permitted under copyright law. If it is not possible to make the file publicly available in DiVA, the librarian will archive the file.
If you have not yet checked whether the publications you wanted to import were already registered in DiVA, you may want to check for duplicates at this stage. The duplicate check described in Step 3 can only find records that have the same identifier (DOI, PMID or ISI) as a record you are about to import. In some cases, existing records lack identifiers.
You can perform a retrospective check for duplicates among your publications in the following way:
If you have accidentally registered a duplicate record, delete it by clicking on the X. If you are unsure if it is actually a duplicate, please contact the library.