Things to consider when publishing a full-text file in DiVA
You can upload full-texts of all types of scholarly publications – such as journal articles, books and reports – and make them open access in DiVA. DiVA provides secure long-term storage with stable links to published full-texts.
Other types of files related to publications – such as images, audio files, films or covers – may also be uploaded, as long as there are no copyright restrictions.
Copyright and publishing of files in DiVA
Before uploading the full-text of a published or forthcoming publication or another type of file (such as an image), you have to make sure that you have the right to do so. In some cases, you will need to obtain permission from the publisher. An individual or a company may have copyright to an image you want to publish in DiVA. In other cases, you may have the right to decide how your full-text or image is distributed.
Sherpa Romeo is a resource that gathers information on publishers' policies on parallel publishing. If you cannot find the information there, check the publishing agreement, look for information on the publisher's website or contact them. The Library can also help clarify the terms of publication.
Publications published by Uppsala University may generally be uploaded to DiVA, unless there is a specific agreement prohibiting this.
If you choose to only archive the file, no permission from the publisher is required.
Versions and publishing conditions
When publishing with a publisher or in a journal, there are usually policies regarding which version(s) (submitted, accepted or published) are allowed to be self-archived in repositories such as DiVA. In some cases, submitted or accepted versions may be published in DiVA, but only after a certain period of time (embargo). In most cases, information about this is available in Sherpa Romeo and/or on the publisher's website.
Cover page
Before an accepted or submitted version is made available in DiVA, the Library adds a cover page. The cover page specifies which version has been posted in DiVA and contains a reference to the published version.
Uploading a file to DiVA – step-by-step
On the Upload files page of the registration form, you can start by indicating whether the file you want to upload is the submitted, accepted or published version. Note! This only applies to the following publication types:
- Article in journal
- Article, book review
- Article, review/survey
- Chapter in book
- Conference paper
Select whether the file should be made available now, later or only archived.
If the full-text cannot be made available immediately, but can be published with a delay (embargo), you can select Make freely available later. In this case, specify a date for when the file is to be made available in DiVA.
Several different formats and file types are supported in DiVA. You also have the option to name the file.
For full-text versions of publications, choose the file type fulltext and the format pdf.
As well as fulltext files in PDF format, you can upload images, datasets, film and sound files.
Examples of formats that can be used:
- Images: tiff, png, jp2, jpeg
- Audio: mp4, mpeg, wav
- Video: mp4, mpeg, flv, mov
- Compressed files: zip, gz
- GIS: kml, kmz
- E-books: epub
In order to select a file to upload, you must in some cases have specified the version of the publication. See step 1.
You can attach a file up to 1 GB in size by clicking on Bläddra (Browse). Locate the file and upload it.
Files larger than 1 GB (maximum 16 GB per file) can instead be uploaded via URL. Follow the instructions in the guide Ladda upp fil via URL (only available in Swedish).
If you need to change the information about a file you have uploaded, click on the Edit file information icon 
After uploading a file to be publicly visible in DiVA, please read the DiVA publishing conditions. Confirm that you have done so by ticking the box I accept the publishing conditions. This is not required if you have chosen to only archive the file.
A box is also available where you can leave a comment for the DiVA administrator approving the full-text publication. Example of how the comment field can be used:
- to clarify the publisher's rules for self-archiving
- to state that you have special permission from the publisher to self-archive a full-text that could not otherwise be made openly available in DiVA
If you want to attach a single file, click Continue to go to the last page of the registration form.
After uploading a file to DiVA
Full-texts are not published immediately
Attached files will only be available in DiVA after review, provided there are no copyright restrictions. This applies regardless of the type of publication. If the file cannot be published openly in DiVA, a librarian will archive the file in the record.
Only DiVA administrators are able to edit records with attached full-texts
Since all file uploads in DiVA are subject to review, a record with full-text will be locked for editing unless you are a DiVA administrator. This includes records with files to be archived only.
Contact the Library if you wish to edit a record you cannot access due to an attached file.