Subject Guides: Law: International Law

International law

DagDok This link opens in a new window
The Dag Hammarskjöld and Law library's guide to UN documents and reports, full- text materials on the UN websites, background information about the work and activities of the UN, in-depth information retrieval via indexes, specialised databases and subject gateways, as well as titles in the collection of the library.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
International legal database with a large number of international journals in full text. Also including some American legal sources, legal classics and the sections “Foreign and International Law Resources” and “Index to foreign legal periodicals”.
Kluwer Law Journals This link opens in a new window
Journals, especially European, published by Kluwer Law.
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and books in many different subjects. A new platform that includes Oxford Scholarship Online and Oxford Handbooks Online. The law collection includes over 30 handbooks on subjects such as human rights law, trade law, investment law and comparative law.

Oxford Public International Law (OPIL)
Access to Oxford Reports on International Law in Domestic Courts and Oxford Reports on International Courts of General Jurisdiction, covering public international case law, reporting on international courts, domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals, as well as the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, containing peer-reviewed articles on every aspect of public international law.

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable database of reference books from Oxford University Press covering all subject areas including law.
Westlaw International This link opens in a new window
A collection of legal and regulatory information dealing with all aspects of law. Covers most areas of the world and also international organisations such as EU, United Nations, WTO and international tribunals.

Arbitration

Investment Arbitration Reporter
Investment Arbitration Reporter is a news & analysis service tracking investor state dispute settlement (ISDS) arbitration claims.
Login off campus:
username: library@ub.uu.se
password (case sensitive): 4%hamW7
Investment Claims This link opens in a new window
Research information on investment arbitration disputes. Including arbitral awards and decisions, bilateral investment treaties, multilateral treaties, journal articles, monographs, and arbitration laws.
Kluwer Arbitration
E-books, journals and primary source materials on international arbitration.

Human rights

HUDOC
Database of the European Court of Human Rights, with case law on the European Convention on Human Rights.

Medical law

International Encyclopaedia for Medical Law
Encyclopedia covering national medical law in 35 countries as well as international medical law.

Tax law

IBFD Tax Research platform This link opens in a new window
This database covers national and international tax law, including case-law, commentaries, international tax treaties, journal articles etc. Produced by IBFD - International Bureau of Fiscal Documentation. The subscription to the IBFD Tax Research platform is sponsored by Centrum för skatterätt.
The subscription to the IBFD Tax Research platform is sponsored by Centrum för skatterätt.

International conventions

Council of Europe Treaty Series (CETS)
The conventions of the Council of Europe and related documents 1949-.
Organization of American States (OAS)
International conventions and agreements between the 35 member states of the OAS.

Printed publications

Council of Europe Treaty Series (CETS)

vol. 194 (2004-) at Dag Hammarskjöld and Law Library (Archive 4 in the basement)

European Treaty Series (ETS) (former title of CETS)

1966 -1992:143 at Carolina Library

vol. 1-193 (1949-2003) at Dag Hammarskjöld and Law Library (Archive 4 in the basement)

International legal materials

Also available in HeinOnline.

vol. 1-51 (1962-2012) at Dag Hammarskjöld and Law Library (order from the closed stacks)

Preparatory acts

Preparatory acts of international conventions, travaux préparatoires, can consist of many different types of documents. How to find them depends on the kind of convention in question, for example if it is related to a specific international organization. Not all preparatory acts are available. Please note that the preparatory acts are not binding on the interpretation of international conventions.

An Approach to Researching the Drafting History of International Agreements
A guide to finding preparatory acts to international agreements.

International case law

Oxford Reports on International Law (ORIL)
Available modules: Oxford Reports on International Law in Domestic Courts and Oxford Reports on International Courts of General Jurisdiction. Covers international law applied in international courts, domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals. Includes case law from, among others, the International Court of Justice (ICJ), the Permanent Court of International Justice (PCIJ), the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea (ITLOS) and the Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA).

Printed publications

Digest of United States Practice in International Law Also available online.	1980- at Dag Hammarskjöld and Law Library (order from the closed stacks)
Publications of the Permanent Court of International Justice. Judgments, orders and advisory opinions	1931-1940 at Dag Hammarskjöld and Law Library (order from the closed stacks)
Reports of international arbitral awards Also available online and in HeinOnline.	vol 1- (1948-) at Dag Hammarskjöld and Law Library (order from the closed stacks)
Reports of judgments, advisory opinions and orders. International Court of Justice	1949- at Dag Hammarskjöld and Law Library (order from the closed stacks)