Groups make it easy to break a large library into subsets for later viewing. A group points to a subset of references that already exist in the library. You can further organize your references by storing multiple groups in group sets. A single reference will never appear more than once in a particular group. However, you can add that reference to any number of groups.
EndNote can attempt to find a journal article in PDF and attach it to a bibliographic reference that you have saved in your library. Mark one or more references in your library and select References → Find Full Text.
The following settings can increase the success rate for finding the full text documents when you are off campus: select Edit → Preferences → Find Full Text. Enter the following links:
If the PDF is not found and attached automatically, you can add it manually in EndNote:
If you have PDF files of journal articles on your computer, you can import these into EndNote and, in many cases, EndNote will create bibliographic references in your library at the same time:
Sometimes, the PDF will be imported, but without a bibliographic reference. Since you cannot use a PDF to cite the source in a document you will need to create a bibliographic reference. You can mark the PDF and fill all needed information about the reference.
With an EndNote online account, you can synchronize your library and access it from anywhere, using a computer or iPad. Make a backup copy before enabling sync! Sync works with only one library and only one EndNote online account.
Using EndNote on several computers with EndNote software installed
The licens allows you to install EndNote on three computers for your own use. If your EndNote library has been synchronized, you can work in it on several computers. Set up synchronization on computer number 2:.
Using EndNote on several computers without EndNote software installed
If your EndNote library has been synchronized, you can use the references to cite sources from your EndNote online account when you are writing in a document. First, log in to your EndNote account and go to Downloads to install the Cite While You Write plugin in Word. Then enter your EndNote account credentials in the EndNote toolbar in word Preferences → Application.
There are several options to share references with others:
EndNote X9 offers users the option to share your entire sync library with up to 100 other users with EndNote X7.2 or later. Library sharing provides entire teams with immediate and real-time access to an entire EndNote library, meaning the same set of references, attachments, notes, and annotations. Changes are sent and received via sync, so all members of the shared library need to have updated to X7.2 or later, have the desktop activated with sync preferences completed, and be connected to the internet in order to send and receive changes. Library sharing is recommended as an alternative to saving a library on a shared drive, or emailing a compressed copy around to a group of collaborators.You can share your entire library, or selected groups, and choose permission Read Only or Read & Write. For copyright reasons, you are not allowed to share PDF attachments to users outside of Uppsala University.
How to share a group:
Access a group/library that somebody has shared with you: