Subject Guides: European Union: EU law

EU law

Proceed to legislation, preparatory acts, case law, literature.

EUR-Lex
Free access to European Union law. For each document you can also find relevant information, for example national implementation of EU directives, preparatory acts to legislation and references to articles that comment on EU cases.
European Union
The European Union website. Find general EU material by browsing a topic or through the relevant EU institution.

Westlaw International This link opens in a new window
A collection of legal and regulatory information dealing with all aspects of law. Covers most areas of the world and also international organisations such as EU, United Nations, WTO and international tribunals.
Westlaw Edge UK This link opens in a new window
Includes EU-related resources.

Legislation

Which article numbers correspond in new and older versions of the treaties? Some of the treaties, including the Lisbon Treaty, have tables of equivalences as an annex to the treaty text, see each treaty in EUR-Lex. These may also be included in printed treaty collections.

Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union
EU treaties
Links to the main treaties of the EU.

Preparatory acts

Centre Virtuel de la Connaissance sur l'Europe (CVCE) – European Integration Studies Collection
Research material and documentation on the history of the European integration, which gives a background to the origin of the treaties.
EU official documents
With links to the document registers of the EU institutions, the Commission green and white papers, material from the meetings of the European Council, preparatory documents from the Council of the European Union etc.
OEIL - Legislative Observatory
Follows the legislative procedure of the EU.

Case law

Association of the Councils of State and Supreme Administrative Jurisdictions of the European Union (ACA-Europe)
References to national case law from the member states concerning Community law.
Court of Justice of the European Free Trade Association States (EFTA Court)
Case law from the EFTA Court.
European Commission - Competition
Commission decisions in competition cases.
European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO)
Legislation and case law from European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO)
InfoCuria
Case law from the Court of Justice of the European Union, the General Court and the Civil Service Tribunal.

Literature

Archive of European Integration (AEI)
Electronic repository and archive for research materials on the topic of European integration and unification. AEI collects two types of materials: certain types of independently-produced research materials and official European Community/European Union documents, including many older COM-documents.
CURIA Library Catalogue
Library of the Court of Justice of the European Union. References to books and articles on EU related topics.
EU Publications
EU publications in full text. Also some publications from the European University Institute.
Find-eR
A tool for searching multiple library resources in one interface. It includes the European Commission Library collections, as well as full-text journal articles and e-books.

Kluwer Law Journals This link opens in a new window
Journals, especially European, published by Kluwer Law.

Search guides

EIA How To Series

EUR-Lex online tutorials (YouTube)

More about the EU

The ABC of European Union Law offers insight into how the European Union is built, its broad principles and the legal order underpinning it, looking at this in relation to the national laws of the Member States.
How EU decisions are made - a webpage about EU's decision-making process.
Summaries of EU Legislation are short, easy-to-understand explanations of the main legal acts passed by the EU – intended for a general, non-specialist audience.
Publication Office of the European Union.
The official portal for European data
Annual Reports from the European Court of Justice.