Subject Guides: Engineering: Reference works and dictionaries

Subject specific

Knovel This link opens in a new window
E-books and reference works in chemistry, technology and information technology. Interactive tools for analysis of data in tables and diagrams. There is a special “Property Search” interface. You need to create a profile if you want to use the app or save bookmarks.To create a profile you must use the email address that you use at your organisation.

Mechanical Engineers Handbook
Ullmans Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry and Chemical Technology
Treatise on geochemistry
This extensively updated new edition of Treatise on Geochemistry has increased its coverage beyond the wide range of geochemical subject areas in the first edition, with five new volumes which include: the history of the atmosphere, geochemistry of mineral deposits, archaeology and anthropology, organic geochemistry and analytical geochemistry.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
One of the world's largest English-language encyclopaedias. Also contains Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

EuroVoc
Multilingual Thesaurus of the European Union
IATE InterActive Terminology for Europe
Inter Active Terminology for Europe - for EU's 24 languages. Contains lots of specialised terms. Definitions are given for some words.
Merriam-Webster, Dictionary and Thesaurus
Merriam-Webster Visual Dictionary Online
Oxford Paperback Thesaurus (4 ed.)
300,000 synonyms and antonyms with thousands of usage examples from real English to show how synonyms are used in context.