Subject Guides: Religion and Theology: Articles and databases

Subject specific databases for religion and theology

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Produced by The American Theological Library Association. References and full-text scholarly articles mainly within religion and theology, but also within related subject areas such as ethics, philosophy and archaeology.
Biblical Archaeology Society Online Archive
Publications published by the Biblical Archaeology Society. Access to every issue of Biblical Archaeology Review, Bible Review och Archaeology Odyssey, book series, images and videos.
Biographisch-Bibliographisches Kirchenlexikon - BBKL

German-language bibliographic encyclopedia covering prominent persons in the history of the Church and the history of philosophy. Summarizes their lives and works. Also includes bibliographies of their most important works and secondary literature.
Index Islamicus
References to publications on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. The geographic scope includes the Middle East, the Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere in the world.
Nag Hammadi Bibliography Online

Brill’s Nag Hammadi Bibliography Online (NHBO) is a cross-searchable database of books, articles and reviews, which contribute to the study of Gnosticism and early Christianity. The main objective of the NHBO is facilitating the work and international collaboration of all scholars working in this field.
New Testament Abstracts
References to international scholarly publications on the New Testament and its historical milieu.
Vetus Latina

Vetus Latina refers to all biblical texts translated into Latin which are not found in the Vulgata. This database contains every citation, listed by book, chapter and verse of the Bible.
Access restricted to three (3) simultaneous users.

The huge panoply of Latin biblical texts which were in existence and use from the second century AD/CE until the time when the Vulgate became predominant are known under the common rubric of the Vetus Latina, or the Old Latin, Bible. The term Vetus Latina refers to all those biblical texts translated into Latin which are not found in the Vulgate. The textual tradition of the Vetus Latina is complex and incomplete. Because there are a limited number of extant manuscripts that haphazardly cover the biblical text the basic sources are biblical citations or allusions that are found within the writings of the Latin Fathers or Greek patristic authors who were translated at an early date into Latin. This database contains every citation, listed by book, chapter and verse of the Bible. The citations can be searched individually or as a whole, following the biblical structure. Within the application the complete repertorium of H.J. Frede (Kirchenschriftsteller - Verzeichnis und Sigel, Freiburg, 1995) can be consulted online, as well as its updates (R. Gryson)

General databases

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
References to peer reviewed articles, meetings, reviews and reports in the arts & humanities. Good options to search and follow citations and to analyse search results. Included in Web of Science Core Collection
JSTOR
Full text archive. Journals on a wide range of subjects. Usually no access to the most recent issues.
ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection
A portal with 14 subject databases in social sciences. It covers anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, sociology, and more. For example, ASSIA, Criminal Justice Database, ERIC, IBSS, LLBA, PAIS, Political Science Database and Sociological Abstracts.
Web of Science Core Collection

References to peer reviewed articles, meetings, reviews and reports in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities. Offers advanced possibilities to follow citations and to analyse citation patterns.