Citation Guide

1. Find the output style you need

Use the website Search by example to find reference styles that match your specific requirements. Change the in-text citation and the bibliographic entry into the format you need, and you will get suggestions on the closest matching styles.

Go to EndNote.com to download and install more than 7000 output styles.

2. Modify an output style

In Style Manager, you can edit and modify an EndNote output style in many ways.

  • Go to Edit → Output Styles  Open Style Manager.
  • Select the style you wish to modify and click on Edit.
  • Save the style you wish to modify under a new name.

edit an output style

Editing tips

  • Open a new Word document and select the style you are modifying.
  • Insert citations of your most commonly used reference types and a bibliography
  • Whenever you edit something in the output style, refresh your document to see how the changes appear in your citations and/or bibliography.

modify an output style 

3. Modify reference types

There are around 50 reference types (book, dataset, journal article, report, web page etc.) available in EndNote. You can modify them or add new ones to match your specific requirements.

  • Go to Edit → Preferences → Reference Types
  • Click on Modify Reference Types

modify reference types 

4. EndNote preferences

In some EndNote styles, the title preferences are set up to apply "Headline style capitalization" or "Sentence style capitalization". If there are acronyms, equations, proper nouns or compound names that require consistent capitalization you can use the Change Case Preferences.

  • Open EndNote Preferences and select Change Case
  • Add words to the list and click Add.

change case preferences


 

You can add names or words that EndNote should ignore, when sorting authors or titles in the list of references.

  • Open EndNote Preferences and select Sorting.
  • Add author names or words that should be ignored.

sorting author names or titles 

5. Abbreviated journal titles - term lists

Some reference styles require abbreviated journal names in the footnotes or bibliography. You can import lists of journal names and their abbreviations into your EndNote library.

  • Go to Tools → Open Term Lists → Journals Term List
  • Select all terms within the list and click on Delete Term

delete journal names

 

  • Select the tab Lists, highlight Journals and click on Import List
  • Select the list you wish to import and click on Open

import journal list

6. Automatic PDF import

You can create a folder for automatic PDF import into EndNote. Whenever you save or copy a PDF file to this folder, EndNote will import it and, if possible, create a bibliographic reference to the PDF.

  • Open EndNote Preferences and select PDF Handling.
  • Click on Select Folder and choose a folder on your computer och create a new one.
  • Check the box Enable automatic importing.
     

automatic pdf importing

7. Sort your bibliography by categories

There are two ways to sort a bibliography by category:

1. Create bibliography categories in a Word document

This option only affects one specific document.

  • Select Categorize References from the EndNote tab to open the Configure Categories dialog.
  • Create your categories by clicking the Category Headings (+) button to display a blank text field below the Category Headings section.
  • Enter a unique category name. For example, enter Journals as a category if you want all your cited journal articles to appear under this category (in the example below, two categories are entered: Litteratur and Offentligt tryck).
  • Continue creating categories. For example, you may create one for Books, Conference Proceedings, Electronic Media, or other types of material.
  • Using the drag-and-drop method, drag a specific reference to the appropriate category under the Category Headings section.
  • Continue this process until all references are assigned a particular category.
  • Check the "Uncategorized References" section to ensure that all references have been assigned to a category.

sort bibliography by categories in Word

 


2. Create bibliography categories in an output style

This option affects all documents where this output style is used.

  • Go to Edit → Output Styles and open the style you wish to edit
  • Select Categories under the Bibliography
  • Type the headlines you wish to use and click on Insert Reference Type to add the types of material to be included.

categories in output styles

8. EndNote on iPad

Some of the features of EndNote in your iPad:

  • access your EndNote library (through synchronisation with EndNote online)
  • save articles to your EndNote library from databases and other resources
  • add PDFs or other file attachments in EndNote for iPad. Read and annotate PDFs on your iPad and synchronize the annotations with your desktop library

9. Journal matching

Manuscript matcher connects EndNote with Web of Science and Journal Citation Reports to identify relevant and impactful journals to which you may wish to submit your manuscript.

You can access Manuscript Matcher in the following ways:

  • In EndNote X9, right-click on a Group in My Library and select Manuscript Matcher
  • In EndNote X9, with a Group highlighted in My Library, select Manuscript Matcher from the Groups menu
  • In Microsoft Word, from within a manuscript, click on Manuscript Matcher in the EndNote Cite While You Write toolbar.

Depending on the references you have used in your manuscript, and the abstract you provide, you will see up to 10 journal matches with detailed information about each journal.